Workshop

3rd Archivoz Symposium – Program 

We present our Annual Symposium! This year we are going to explore two exciting topics that will generate thought and debate. On 3rd November, we are hosting the first discussion on Citizens in Archives. Then, on the 10th, we are discussing Decolonisation and Restitution in Cultural Institutions. Learn more about it on the day.

 

First Session

Citizens in Archives Workshop

Speakers:

Tomás Mac Conmara, Director, Cork Folklore Project

Ceri Humphries,  Digitally Unlocking Nature’s Archive, UK Natural History Museum

Lisa Cardy, Interim Head of Library and Archives at UK Natural History Museum

Rebecca Bailey, Programme Director, Towards a National Collection, Arts & Humanities Research Council

Date/Time:

3rd November 2021

From: 5 pm (UK) – 6 pm (EU) – 12 pm (New York, USA) – 9 am (Los Angeles, USA) – 11 am (Lima, Peru)

To: 7:30 pm (UK) – 8:30 pm (EU) – 2:30 pm (NY) – 11:30 am (LA) – 1:30 pm (Lima, Peru)

Abstract:

In recent times, efforts have been made to include the general public in the process of archival development. This has been done formally, via crowd-sourced metadata creation projects, or substantively, through the efforts of oral historians and local history associations, which in many cases are managed and curated by volunteer workers who are members of the communities represented. We believe this is a trend that will grow as digital workspaces and networks increasingly define the process of archival development. This workshop aims to bring together projects and research around citizen archives. We hope to offer a space to think, learn, and discuss. Between the presentations, the participants will have time to discuss the different talks in smaller break rooms, and at the end, there will be a chance to debate with the speakers. We look forward to seeing you there!

Book here (click-me)

 

Second Session

Writing Cultural Wrongs. Decolonisation and Restitution in Cultural Institutions Workshop

Speakers:

Dr Daniela Agostinho, Assistant Professor at Aarhus University, Department of Digital Design & Information Studies

Victoria Cranna, Archivist & Records Manager at London School of Hygiene & Tropical Medicine

Grace Hutchison, Program Development Officer at InsightShare

Date/Time:

10th November 2021

From: 5 pm (UK) – 6 pm (EU) – 12 pm (New York, USA) – 9 am (Los Angeles, USA) – 11 am (Lima, Peru)

To: 7:30 pm (UK) – 8:30 pm (EU) – 2:30 pm (NY) – 11:30 am (LA) – 1:30 pm (Lima, Peru)

Abstract:

This workshop aims to bring together projects and research around decolonisation in the heritage sector, each with a slightly different perspective, to generate discussion and debate. The three speakers have diverse backgrounds, covering academic research, archives, and museums. We hope that the workshop will offer a space to think, learn, and discuss. Between the presentations, the participants will have time to discuss the different talks in smaller break rooms, and at the end, there will be a chance to debate with the speakers. We look forward to seeing you there!

Book here (click-me)

 

The program is also available as a pdf (download below).

3rd Symposium Program (download me)

Program 3rd Symposium

 

We hope to see you there!!